Jeremy Turner Studio

Sundance Institute unveils Music and Sound Design Lab fellows

Sundance Institute unveils Music and Sound Design Lab fellows

via Screen Daily

Independent artists Kris Bowers, Germaine Franco, Danielle Eva Schwob and Jeremy Turner are among the select few for this summer’s Music and Sound Design Labs held at Skywalker Ranch in northern California.

This is the third year that Skywalker Ranch will host the Music and Sound Design Labs, a joint initiative between the Sundance Institute’s Film Music Program and Feature Film and the Film Music Program and Documentary Film Program.

The Music and Sound Design Labs provide workshops and creative exercises for composers, directors and sound designers to collaborate on the process of designing a soundtrack for film.

“This year’s fellows include an outstanding group of composers whose work will deepen and enrich the experience of the diverse personal stories being told by these fiction and documentary filmmakers,” said Sundance Institute Film Music Program director Peter Golub.

“Skywalker Sound is the perfect space for composers, filmmakers and sound designers to come together to explore the magical integration of image, music and sound.”

Each summer, the Institute holds two Labs in which composers team up with filmmakers for the Sound Design Lab for features (July 7-21) and documentaries lab (July 22-30).

The six fellows selected for the Sundance Institute Feature Film Program are: Yung Chang for Eggplant (China-Canada); Laure de Clermont-Tonnerre for Mustang(France); Mark Kindred for Rogue (USA); Matthew Ross forFrank & Lol (USA); Brent Green for Over The Eaves (USA); and Marialy Rivas for La Princesita (Chile), as previously announced exclusively on Screendaily.

The narrative filmmakers will collaborate with composers Fabrizio Mancinelli, Forrest Gray, Stephanie Economou, Danielle Eva Schwob, Kris Bowers and Alexander Rudd.

The four fellows from the Sundance Institute Documentary Film Program are: Jessica Dimmock and Christopher LaMarca for Brick; Shirley Abraham and Amit Madheshiya for Like Ants For Sugar; Pacho Velez for The Reagan Years; and Javid Soriana for Swing Low.

The documentary filmmakers will join forces with composers Samora Pinderhughes, Germaine Franco, Christopher North and Jeremy Turner.

Creative Advisors this year include composers Jeff Beal, Todd Boekelheide, George S Clinton, Harry Gregson-Williams and Laura Karpman; sound designers Chris Barnett, Pete Horner and Randy Thom; BMI Vice President, Doreen Ringer Ross; re-recording mixers Erik Foreman, Zach Martin and Brandon Proctor; music supervisor Sue Jacobs; director Jon Else; and music agent Robert Messinger.